LINGUIST List 11.1057

Wed May 10 2000

Calls: Lang Processing (AMLaP), Ling/Southwest (LASSO)

Editor for this issue: Jody Huellmantel <>

As a matter of policy, LINGUIST discourages the use of abbreviations or acronyms in conference announcements unless they are explained in the text.


  • AMLaP 2000, Architectures and Mechanisms for Language Processing (AMLaP-2000)
  • Mary Jane Hurst, Linguistic Association of the Southwest (LASSO)

    Message 1: Architectures and Mechanisms for Language Processing (AMLaP-2000)

    Date: Wed, 10 May 2000 15:03:26 +0200
    From: AMLaP 2000 <>
    Subject: Architectures and Mechanisms for Language Processing (AMLaP-2000)


    AMLAP-2000 2nd C A L L F O R P A P E R S AMLaP-2000

    Architectures and Mechanisms for Language Processing

    LEIDEN, The Netherlands, 20 - 23 September 2000 ___________________________________________________________


    This is the second announcement and call for submissions to the 6th annual conference on Architectures and Mechanisms for Language Processing (AMLaP-2000), to be held in Leiden from September 20-23.

    The aim of the conference is to bring together psychological, computational, and theoretical perspectives on the cognitive mechanisms which underlie any aspect of human language processing. Submissions which integrate experimental evidence with formal or computational models of psychological processes are especially encouraged.

    - SUBMISSION: The deadline for the submission of abstracts of both spoken and poster presentations is June 4th 2000.

    Abstracts should be no longer than 400 words (excluding references), and should be in plain ASCII text.

    * At the top of the abstract, please include authors' names, affiliations, and email addresses

    * please leave several blank lines before indicating whether the abstract is for consideration as a PAPER or as a POSTER, and giving the title. Abstracts rejected as papers will automatically be considered as posters unless explicit instructions to the contrary are given.

    Abstracts should be submitted by email to:

    The subject of the message should be: "abstract submission".

    Notifications of acceptance will be sent before July 15th.

    - BOARD OF REVIEWERS: Gerry Altmann, Kathryn Bock, Colin Brown, Marc Brysbaert, Charles Clifton, Martin Corley, Matthew Crocker, Walter Daelemans, Edward Gibson, Peter Hagoort, Barbara Hemforth, Yuki Kamide, Lars Konieczny, Simon Liversedge, Vincenzo Lombardo, Don Mitchell, wayne Murray, Thomas Pechmann, Martin Pickering, Ardi Roelofs, Christoph Scheepers, Laurie Stowe, Patrick Sturt, Michael Tanenhaus, Gabriella Vigliocco, Wietske Vonk.

    - INVITED SPEAKERS (confirmed): Anne Cutler, Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, Nijmegen Luc Steels, Free University, Brussels Marta Kutas, UCSD, San Diego

    - REGISTRATION: Registration and accommodation details will soon appear on the AMLaP-2000 website:

    There will be a discount for early registration, for which the deadline is 15 August 2000.

    _____________________________________________________ AMLaP-2000 Committee: Gerard Kempen, Nomi Olsthoorn _____________________________________________________

    Message 2: Linguistic Association of the Southwest (LASSO)

    Date: Tue, 09 May 2000 08:22:52 -0500
    From: Mary Jane Hurst <ditmgTTACS.TTU.EDU>
    Subject: Linguistic Association of the Southwest (LASSO)

    Call for Papers: 29th Annual LASSO Conference

    Abstracts are now being accepted for the 2000 meeting of the Linguistic Association of the Southwest (LASSO). Papers on any topic in linguistics will be considered, though submissions on the conference theme of "Minority Languages in the Americas" are particularly encouraged. Abstracts may be in English or in Spanish.

    The abstract deadline is June 1, 2000. Send submissions to <>.

    The conference will be held in Puebla, Mexico, from October 13-15, 2000.

    For further information, visit LASSO's website:

    _______________________________________________ Mary Jane Hurst, Ph.D. Professor of English, Texas Tech University Executive Director, LASSO <>