LINGUIST List 33.1138

Wed Mar 30 2022

Calls: Cog Sci, Comp Ling, Gen Ling, Lang Acquisition, Psycholing/Germany

Editor for this issue: Everett Green <>

Date: 26-Mar-2022
From: Jessie Nixon <>
Subject: Second International Conference on Error-Driven Learning in Language
E-mail this message to a friend

Full Title: Second International Conference on Error-Driven Learning in Language
Short Title: EDLL 2022

Date: 01-Aug-2022 - 03-Aug-2022
Location: Tübingen/Online, Germany
Contact Person: Jessie Nixon
Meeting Email: < click here to access email >
Web Site:

Linguistic Field(s): Cognitive Science; Computational Linguistics; General Linguistics; Language Acquisition; Psycholinguistics

Call Deadline: 18-Apr-2022

Meeting Description:

Dear all,

on the 50th Anniversary of the Rescorla-Wagner equations and after the success of the first EDLL (2021) conference last year, we’re pleased to announce that the Second International Conference on Error-Driven Learning in Language (EDLL 2022) will take place this year. Due to continued uncertainty regarding travel restrictions, the conference will be held online. The conference will take place from the 1st-3rd of August, 2022.

The Second International Conference on Error-Driven Learning in Language (EDLL 2022) aims to bring together researchers interested in error-driven learning in speech and language. We would also be interested in submissions from neighbouring fields, such as implicit learning, statistical learning and applied linguistics, especially if a connection can be made to error-driven learning. Work in progress is also welcome.

Error-driven learning models, such as Rescorla and Wagner (1972) and Widrow and Hoff (1960) have had a major influence on many areas of psychology related to human and animal learning. However, research on language learning took a separate path for a long time. Recently, insights from error-driven learning have begun to be applied to a broad range of language phenomena with promising results. For example, error-driven learning models have addressed questions relating to reading, spoken word comprehension, colour and number acquisition, word learning, first and second language speech sound acquisition, morphological processing, sentence processing, neural correlates of prediction error and more.

Keynote speakers:
We are excited to announce our fantastic line up of Keynote speakers:
Prof Peter Dayan, Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics
Dr Elizabeth Wonnacott, University of Oxford
Prof Padraic Monaghan, University of Lancaster and University of Amsterdam
Dr Jacolien van Rij, University of Groningen

2nd Call for Papers:

Call for abstracts:

We are inviting experimental, computational or theoretical abstracts on any topic in error-driven learning of speech or language. Suitable topics include but are not limited to:
The role of prediction error in
- first and second language acquisition
- learning or processing phonetic, morphological, syntactic or lexical information
- sentence processing, syntax and grammar acquisition and processing
as well as
- neural processing of error feedback during speech and language comprehension, production or learning
- the relationship between error-driven learning and information theory
- learning models such as implicit learning, Hebbian learning, statistical learning, Bayesian learning or distributional learning, especially if a connection can be made to error-driven learning.

Important Dates:
Abstracts due: 18 April, 2022
Notification of acceptance sent: 10 June, 2022
Revised abstracts due: 1 July, 2022
Conference: 1-3 August, 2022

There will be no registration fee. Participation is free. However, participants will be required to register. Registration information to follow.

We will publish abstracts in an online proceedings. Authors will retain copyright.

Submission guidelines:
Anonymous abstracts should be submitted to EasyChair at the following link
Abstracts should be written in English and be no more than one page of text, single line spacing, with an optional second page for tables, figures and references. Please see the submission page for formatting and other details.

Programme committee
Jessie Nixon
Fabian Tomaschek
Harald Baayen

For inquiries contact:

Page Updated: 30-Mar-2022